Glühwein, danke!

In december 2015 I was strolling around Berlin. Poor, but sexy, as they call the city. When I visit Berlin close to Christmas, I always find myself with Glühwein on Alexanderplatz. Normally its freezing cold, but it was 12 degrees and sun when the warm drink entered my body. The Glühwein in Berlin is way better than mine, but hey! No need to give up. By the way; minus 12 degrees in Oslo now.

First a picture from Berlin, then the recipe of my Nordic version of Glühwein

image

Nordic Glühwein 

You need:

  • 1 orange
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 10 cloves
  • 2 dl water
  • 1 vanilla bean
  • 1 dl sugar syrup
  • 12 cl aquavit
  • 6 dl red wine (Barbera Alba, this time)

Put orange peel, orange juice, cinnamon stick, vanilla bean (sliced + seeds), cloves and water in a saucepan. Boil for 10 minutes. Pour in the red wine. Gently heat it.

I like to drink it from a red wine glass with sliced orange in it. Don’t forget the aquavit. Prost!

20160106_215949

 

 

 

Author: Superbartorialist

I like coctails. That is all!

Leave a Reply

